12923122_10154062583148544_1122360547843837095_n
My notes on Kung Fu Panda 3:

1. Do any of you still remember that scene in Maalaala Mo Kaya the Movie when Chin Chin Gutierrez came back from Japan to reclaim her son from sister Aiko Melendez, who took care of him while she fulfilled her role as the best pabayang ina? In that highly-charged confrontation, Aiko clutched at her blouse and wailed, “Iniluwal mo lang siya, Marissa! Ako ang bumuhay sa kanya!”, then cried even more when Ruffa Gutierrez stole her Manila Film Festival Best Actress Award via the Take It, Take It Scam. (Why do these Gutierrezes love taking things from her? Also, RIP Viveka Babajee.)

2. I was expecting that same level of emotions when Po’s long-lost father came back and took him away from good ‘ol Mr. Ping, so I was a bit disappointed that there was no telenovela acting involved here. I could just imagine how hard it would have been for a goose to balance his work in the noodle factory and raise a species not his own. And for the real father to just barge in their lives and take away their shared happiness, that was just unacceptable. Wait, why did I care so much? Besides, having two dads seem to be the new normal so I should stop complaining.

3. The animation was impressive to say the least. It had been one of the strongest points of this franchise (even in part 2, a movie I didn’t particularly like). The watercolor feel just went really well with the overall tone of the movie and delivered the promised cheeky fun (I was laughing as soon as I saw Po on the Dreamworks logo) and gorgeous kung fu sequences.

4. One character finally asked the question that had been bugging me after all my years of watching those Saturday afternoon Chinese movies on TV, “Do we have to strike a pose every time we land?”.

5. Dreamworks hit the jackpot with that panda village. It could be their own Minions. Seriously, they could create a spin-off for any of those distinct, lovable characters. Who wouldn’t want to see them in an adventure where they wouldn’t walk, but just roll? My favorite one would have to be that smirking panda in need of dental surgery.

6. I would always have a soft spot for characters that were fat or had asthma. When Po asked, “Do you have panda asthma, too? Does it run in the family?”, I just adored him even more.

7. Words of wisdom from Master Shifu: “If you only do what you can do, you will never be more than you are now.” Whoaaaaahh! Skidoosh!!

Rating: ★★★★☆

